Work In Progress-Mindfulness

003Like the vibrant colors in this picture, mindfulness is an active process in experiencing our thoughts and actions in a very conscious effort or with intention.

Mindfulness is a state of active open attention to the present.  Maintaining mindfulness requires active participation in living.  For me, my journey toward mindfulness is a work in progress as I work at living in each moment and awaken to each experience.  At first the practice of mindfulness can appear to be a struggle, but, with practice is achievable. Mindfulness can be applied to all activities–writing, gardening, knitting, and sewing.

There are several steps in my mindfulness journey.  The first is let go of my conscious thought and focus my energy and mind on the current task I’m doing.  I work at savoring each experience.  When faced with challenges along the task, I acknowledge and accept them without judgment and then refocus on my task.  Deep breathing throughout the tasks helps to keep me centered and allows me to develop a rhythmic flow.

Let me use my knitting to demonstrate these steps.  With my knitting in my lap, I focus on the tapping of my knitting needles and the feel of the yarn as it passes over my fingers. I marvel at each stitch and row.  I work on savoring this experience..  I also concentrate on steadying my breathing to help me increase my awareness of my knitting.  I become engrossed in my knitting and develop a rhythmic flow. If my chance, I drop a stitch I don’t let it bother me.  I accept it, correct it, and continue with my knitting.  I do not waste time chastising myself.  Deep breaths help me to remain focused on my knitting.  The end result is mindfulness knitting or knitting in the moment. My mindful knitting becomes a vibrant experience.  Bright and full of energy.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

